How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Vermont

In order to sell real estate in Vermont, you must first obtain a real estate license from theVermont Real Estate Commission. The real estate salesperson license allows you to facilitate the buying and selling of properties under the guidance of a Vermont broker.  The steps listed below will guide you on how to become a real estate agent in Vermont.

Meet the minimum requirements

You must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent.

Complete the education requirements

40-hours of instruction in principles and practices of real estate are required of all applicants for a salesperson’s license in Vermont. Some of the topics covered in the pre-licensing course include agency relationships and contracts, Vermont real estate commission statutes and rules, real property, marketing regulations, real estate calculations, regulations governing activities of licensees, and laws related to real estate.

Complete the State exam

The Vermont state licensing exam is administered by the Vermont Office of Professional Regulation (OPR) and is completed during the initial application process.  The state portion is an untimed, open book, paper-based exam with 50 questions.  The exam answer sheet is uploaded with your application.

Register for and take the National portion of the Real Estate Exam

PSI administers the national portion of the Vermont real estate licensing exam. There are 100 questions on the national portion and 2.5 hours are allowed for the exam. Applicants must obtain a minimum of 75% to pass the exam.

Choose a company to work with

We would be happy to talk with you about a future with Verani Realty. We are the state’s largest real estate brokerage, with offices located throughout NH, MA, and ME.

Apply for your VT real estate license
  1. Complete the online application and pay the non-refundable processing fee
  2. Upload certificate of completion of your 40-hour pre-licensing course
  3. Upload completed verification of Employment/Supervision firm (You will need to select the firm you plan to affiliate with before taking the state exam)
  4. Complete the state portion of the exam, provided with the application.
  5. Upload proof of successfully passing the National Exam within two years preceding the date of application
  • VT Pre-licensing course with The CE Shop: Packages starting at $275
  • VT Salesperson National Exam Fee: $110 (Payable to PSI at time of exam)
  • VT Salesperson Application Fee: $100.00 (Payable State of VT)


Contact Monika McGillicuddy to discuss your real estate options.