How to Become a Real Estate Agent in New Hampshire
In order to sell real estate in New Hampshire, you must first obtain a real estate license from the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission. The real estate salesperson license allows you to facilitate the buying and selling of properties under the guidance of a New Hampshire broker. The steps listed below will guide you on how to become a real estate agent in New Hampshire.
Meet the minimum requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent.
Complete the education requirements
Real estate licensees must complete 40 hours of education before applying to become a licensed agent in NH. Some of the topics covered in your pre-licensing course include transfer of title, real estate calculations, New Hampshire principles and practice, contracts, fair housing guidelines, and real estate financing.
Complete a background check
All real estate applicants in New Hampshire must submit a notarized criminal record report to the New Hampshire Division of State Police prior to licensure. Your report will be reviewed by the New Hampshire Criminal History Record Information to determine if you meet the qualifications for obtaining your real estate license. You can still apply for a real estate license if you’ve been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, but there will be additional requirements and paperwork to submit.
Register for and Take the New Hampshire Real Estate Exam
The NH Salesperson Pre-Licensing course affidavit, and the NH Salesperson Exam Registration form need to be mailed or personally delivered to the NH Real Estate Commission. The Real Estate Commission will process your NH Salesperson exam registration and notify the testing service PSI. You will receive an exam registration notice from PSI via email with instructions for scheduling your exam.
The exam is administered via computer and the test format is multiple choice. There are 80 questions pertaining to national real estate and 40 questions pertaining to New Hampshire real estate. You will be given 3.5 hours to complete the exam. A passing score requires you to obtain 70% on each section of the exam.
Choose a company to work with
We would be happy to talk with you about a future with Verani Realty. We are the state’s largest real estate brokerage, with offices located throughout NH, MA, and ME.
Apply for your NH real estate license
Complete the NH salesperson application and submit it to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission along with the items on the application’s checklist.
- Verani School of Real Estate Pre-licensing Course: $365.00
- NH Salesperson Exam Fee: $155.00 (Payable State of NH)
- NH Salesperson Application Fee: $90.00 (Payable State of NH)
- NH Background Check: $25.00 (Payable State of NH)