How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Massachusetts
In order to sell real estate in Massachusetts, you must first obtain a real estate license from the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons. The real estate salesperson license allows you to engage in the practice of real estate brokering and sales in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. The steps listed below will guide you on how to become a real estate agent in Massachusetts.
Meet the minimum requirements
You must be at least 18 years of age and have a social security number.
Complete the education requirements
Complete 40 hours of approved Pre-Licensing education, as required by the Massachusetts Real Estate Board. Visit our partner The CE Shop to get started.
Pass the course final exam
After you complete all the course materials and meet the minimum time requirement, there is a course final exam consisting of 100 questions. A minimum score of 75% is required to pass this exam.
Gain approval from the Massachusetts Board of Registration
Before you can take the real estate licensing exam, you must first obtain three candidate endorsements from individuals unrelated to you. These individuals do not have to be Massachusetts residents. You will then mail your application to the PSI office to get pre-approved to take the licensing exam.
Pass the Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Examination
Take the Massachusetts salesperson licensing exam, which is administered by PSI. The National portion of the exam consists of 80 questions to be answered within 150 minutes. The State portion consists of 40 questions to be answered within 90 minutes.
Choose a company to work with
Choosing the right broker to work with you is a key success factor for building your new career. We would be happy to talk with you about a future with Verani Realty. We are the state’s largest real estate brokerage, with offices located throughout NH, MA, and ME.
- Massachusetts Pre-licensing Course with The CE Shop: Packages starting at $249
- MA Salesperson Exam Fee: $85.00 (Payable State of MA)
- MA Licensing Fee: License fees are prorated in accordance with Massachusetts law and will be calculated at the test center. Salesperson fees are between $103 and $150.